‘Superhero’ month: Batman quote of the day


Batman Begins (2005)

Bruce Wayne’s decision that his family’s legacy of ridding Gotham of poverty and crime can no longer be achieved just through politics and inspiring the wealthy. Batman truly begins.

Alfred Pennyworth: Are you coming back to Gotham for long, sir?

Bruce Wayne: As long as it takes. I’m gonna show the people of Gotham their city doesn’t belong to the criminals and the corrupt.

Alfred Pennyworth: In the depression, your father nearly bankrupted Wayne Enterprises combating poverty. He believed that his example could inspire the wealthy of Gotham to save their city.

Bruce Wayne: Did it?

Alfred Pennyworth: In a way. Their murders shocked the wealthy and the powerful into action.

Bruce Wayne: People need dramatic examples to shake them out of apathy and I can’t do that as Bruce Wayne, as a man I’m flesh and blood I can be ignored I can be destroyed but as a symbol, as a symbol I can be incorruptible, I can be everlasting.

Alfred Pennyworth: What symbol?

Bruce Wayne: Something elemental, something terrifying.

I would really like your comments, please leave a reply...

