Comment: Great Scott! Ridley talks Prometheus sequels


 

Spoilers ahead!

If you HAVE seen Prometheus, read on!

As commenting in my review of Prometheus, we weren’t entirely given the concrete answers we were expecting from the Sci-fi master’s return.

Director Ridley Scott no doubt gave us the how we came to be, but perhaps not the why; which in my view not only respected the viewer’s intelligence (“figure it out for yourself”) and left it wide open for sequel(s), but posed the question of whether Scott just missed the point, failing in an attempt to give answers or making a movie as he always intended. The very premeditated ending suggests to me that Prometheus is just the tip of the origin iceberg and the full on launch of a franchise that will ultimately, fully link into Alien.

Opinion is divided on whether Scott just dropped the ball, many expecting a much more conclusive statement, but Prometheus has been critically well received.

Well, Scott has been chatting about plans for sequels and his intentions all along. Read into it what you will…

“From the very beginning, I was working from a premise that lent itself to a sequel,” says Scott. “I really don’t want to meet God in the first one. I want to leave it open to Shaw saying, ‘I don’t want to go back to where I came from. I want to go where they came from.'”

“I’d love to explore where [Dr. Shaw] goes next and what she does when she gets there” says Scott, “because if it is paradise, paradise cannot be what you think it is. Paradise has a connotation of being extremely sinister and ominous.”

“Because [the Engineers] are such aggressive fuckers,” he continues, “I always had it in there that the God-like creature that you will see actually is not so nice, and is certainly not God.”

Let’s face it, we would love a sequel(s) to Prometheus – wouldn’t we?

Source: Totalfilm (via THR, Worst Previews)

8 responses to “Comment: Great Scott! Ridley talks Prometheus sequels

  1. I think that there was no way Scott could have fit everything he wanted to say into Prometheus, so I’m really glad there will be a sequel. As soon as I left the theater, I was thinking about where Shaw would end up going, and I agree with Scott – it most certainly will not be Paradise – and she won’t meet anyone resembling God. Not after that first bit of unpleasant contact with the Engineers.

    • indeed. The engineers turned out to be Alien nasties and not the friendly welcoming ET’s she thought they would be. I am looking forward to potential sequels. Thanks for your comment Livi.

    • Me to mark, he dangled the proverbial carrot big time but I say enough to come back for more and it’s also made me want to revisit all the aliens ( a buddy has lent me his box set 🙂 my viewing is sorted then!

  2. Even though i pretty much panned Prometheus, i would like to see where the story goes. I didn’t as much have a problem with the actual story as with the other things that went wrong with it, such as poor character development, but as far as the story goes, i’d be happy to see what comes next. Although Lindelhof did say that any sequels would move even further away from the Alien story, which could be interesting.

    • quite right, character development was thin, i commented too that David was THE only real character, apart from Shaw, who was good but as the lead female might have been better. Perhaps we will see her character develop into something like Ripley in the sequels. I think it will touch with Alien again somehow, the birth would not have been thrown in at the end for me other than joining the dots. I demand more ha!

I would really like your comments, please leave a reply...

