Thoughts on The Amazing Spider-man AND brand new ‘Super-preview’


For me, it was the 2002 version of Spiderman starring Tobey McGuire as Peter Parker that truly set the tone for the last decade of superhero movies. It was one of the first and best of the new wave of comic book flicks that really changed the direction and importance of the genre. It wouldn’t be unfair to suggest that ‘Spiderman’ was the best superhero movie up until that point, only bettered by exceptional films that owe a lot to what ‘Spiderman’ set a blueprint for.

I haven’t really commented on the latest upcoming ‘Spidy’ movie for many reasons; firstly and most prominently, when I heard there was going to be a reboot of the franchise I failed to really get excited due to the fact that the story had already been competently launched in Sam Raimi’s original; I really didn’t see any point in revisiting the origin.

Secondly, I like Spidy but he really doesn’t get me psyched like Hulk, Iron Man and Thor do, or as well as my undoubted favourite DC’s Batman; and when you add how awful Spiderman 3 was I have to say I have fears for The Amazing Spiderman.

But, as any good hero deserves a chance the more I have seen of glimpses so far of the new Spiderman, the slightly more excited I get.

As casting goes, Andrew Garfield looks physically perfect to play Spiderman; lithe and seemingly far more charming and cocky cool than McGuire’s nerdier take. I predict he will nail his version of Spidy to be far more appealing than McGuire’s.

In an already great summer of hero movies, sandwiched between the awesome Avengers and the expected drama and brilliance of The Dark Knight Rises, will there be enough room for good old Spidy to swing freely?

I think perhaps so if this brand new ‘Super-preview’ is anything to go by. Check it out here at YouTube.

I would really like your comments, please leave a reply...

