Silence is proven to be golden! BAFTA awards 2012


 

The 2012 Bafta’s where held in London last night with ‘The Artist’ the biggest winner with Six awards.

Meryl Streep won in the Best Actress category for her portrayal as ‘Maggie’ in The Iron Lady, probably the biggest shoe in ever.

Jean Dujardin won Best Actor in The Artist.

 

I haven’t seen The Artist yet so I cannot comment on its merits, but there is reason I did not venture out to my local cinema to see it – it’s silent. Many of last night’s award hopefuls appealed to me enough to take in a viewing and The Artist has not yet done this, until now.

With Bafta success I must say my interest in what many are calling “a gem” has peaked so I will surely now take a look.

The Descendants, Drive and Tinker, Tailor, soldier, Spy all tempted me enough to watch and provide comment on this here blog. All would have been worthy winners, with The Descendants just my pick of the bunch, but The Artist prevailed which has now led me to question

-Did I miss a trick with The Artist? So much so that I didn’t bother to watch it?

Truth be told I couldn’t see enough to persuade me until now to view a silent movie way out of its time, and I didn’t consider such a left field approach, forward thinking enough.

Many have made much of the charm of the film and the bravery by its producers to make a silent movie and perhaps the supposed charm and uniqueness has swayed the voters to celebrate its individualism with honours, which is as worthy a reason as any I guess.

As with many movies over the years that have won major honours and still passed many by, there now must be sense of curiosity about it credentials for those unacquainted and whether it measures up to the accolade. Well, I will now seek The Artist out and pay it the respect it deserves with a viewing, I hope any scepticism I may have doesn’t do it a disservice when I do take a look.

I will report back with my findings, hopefully enlightened.

Here is a list of last nights winners:

Picture: The Artist

Actor: Jean Dujardin – The Artist

Actress: Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady

Director: Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist

Supporting actress: Octavia Spencer – The Help

Supporting actor: Christopher Plummer – Beginners

Animated film: Rango

Documentary: Senna

Outstanding British film: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Film not in the English language: The Skin I Live In

Outstanding debut: Tyrannosaur

Adapted screenplay: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Bridget O’Connor and Peter Straughan

Original screenplay: The Artist – Michel Hazanavicius

Production design: Hugo – Dante Ferretti and Francesca Lo Schiavo

Cinematography: The Artist – Guillaume Schiffman

Makeup and hair: The Iron Lady – Mark Coulier, J. Roy Helland, Marese Langan

Costume design: The Artist – Mark Bridges

Editing: Senna – Gregers Sall and Chris King

Sound: Hugo – Philip Stockton, Eugene Gearty, Tom Fleischman, John Midgley

Original score: The Artist – Ludovic Bource

Rising star award: Adam Deacon

Academy fellowship: Martin Scorsese

Outstanding contribution to British cinema: John Hurt

Special visual effects: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 – Tim Burke, John Richardson, Greg Butler and David Vickery

Short animation: A Morning Stroll – Grant Orchard and Sue Goffe

Short film: Pitch Black Heist – John Maclean and Geraldine

2 responses to “Silence is proven to be golden! BAFTA awards 2012

  1. I actually would like to check out The Artist, only because it hasn’t been done before, in recent years, and so let’s not pass it off. I remember when Crounching Tiger, Hodden Dragon was released and that won recognition and high praise. I thought, ‘oh no, a foreign film with subtitles!’ a bit ignorant, I know. But it can be off putting to try and watch a film, and read subtitles at the same time. Anyway, we went to watch it – a disaster! The film reel burned out halfway through, and after a few attempts at starting it again and trying to fix it, we were finally apologised by the cinema management and advised we would receive free tickets to come back again and watch it. We left disappointed! So the following week, I think, we returned for a second attempt of viewing this film. We were not disappointed this time. The film deserved its high praise indeed. Reading the subtitles and watching this film was fantastic! this film taught me not to prejudge a film by it ‘cover?’ give it a go, you never know, you may enjoy it more than you think! This is why I want to see it. 🙂

I would really like your comments, please leave a reply...

