Short Review: The Iron Lady


‘Iron’ performance, paper thin film 

You may have heard much about ‘The Iron Lady’ as an average film with a superb lead performance from Meryl Streep. I can confirm this to be true.

Well worthy of her seventeenth Oscar nomination for a brilliant ‘imitation’ of Maggie and many peoples favourite for her third win, it is Meryl Streep who is the one and  only highlight in a messy, surreal and confused film that does nothing to improve the foreign perspective of the British stereotype.

Tory cabinet ministers are played as the expected ‘toffs’ and are written as caricatures rather than real people (some may think this is an accurate portrayal, but we shouldn’t have to guess who Michael Heseltine and John Major are). This is really all they are given room to be as ALL of Maggie’s men are presented as weak buffoons, giving too much emphasis to ‘The Iron Lady’ as the only one with a pair of balls suggesting an almost tyrannical reign as PM. Perhaps for many living in the harsh times of eighties Britain, this may have felt like the case.

This film should have been one of the best biopics we have seen in recent years and ought to have been a richer and more revealing study of one of the most controversial British and world figures during her, undoubtedly eventful time ‘in service’, rather than a wallowing study of an elderly lady in decline.

Acting can often make a film, but doesn’t always rescue it and even Streep’s superb central performance can’t carry this one beyond average. Still worthy of a look though, just to behold yet another masterful and uncanny portrayal by Streep.

6/10

5 responses to “Short Review: The Iron Lady

  1. I can’t bring myself to watch this film. I love Streep but I despise Thatcher so much that I think I’d be infuriated even having to give her anymore of my time. I have a passionate hatred for her and can confirm wholeheartedly that she was tyrannical. I grew up during Thatchers reign and as a result the decisions she made affected me greatly. I am Scottish and Thatcher used to “test” her changes in Scotland first, to see what the reaction would be, before bringing it to England. Scotland was used as guinea pigs and to this day, there is a vehement hatred for that woman. I despise her with a passion, as most Scots do.

    • she was a tyrant no doubt for me, I could have made my review far more political. I am from a town called Widnes, a typical northern town just outside Liverpool and she didn’t make life easy for the north of England either, a little bit before my time but I always remember her taking my milk of me. Your hatred (well justified) has saved you from watching a shit film, so every cloud and all that. thanks for checking out my review and commenting once more buddy.

  2. she was a tyrant no doubt for me, I could have made my review far more political. I am from a town called Widnes, a typical northern town just outside Liverpool and she didn’t make life easy for the north of England either, a little bit before my time but I always remember her taking my milk of me. Your hatred (well justified) has saved you from watching a shit film, so every cloud and all that. thanks for checking out my review and commenting once more buddy.

I would really like your comments, please leave a reply...

