Claratsi’s quotation Marks!


brass balls glengarry Glen Ross

You need brass balls to sell a post about Glengarry Glen Ross quotes!

A Claratsi Movie Review/Marked Movies production.

Recently, Glengarry Glen Ross has become an instantly loved film for me.

In my brief blogging hiatus lasting two weeks – enforced by illness :’( I watched it three times and how I have never seen it before after being enlightened, is now beyond me.

Now, I am no movie muggins, I knew it was pretty good, but just how good, was revelatory.

What is so powerful in the whole movie is just how dynamic and awesome the dialogue is, coupled with the utter hilarity of its delivery. That’s what makes it instantly quotable, something that all we movie fans love – right!?

In tandem with fellow Glengarry Glen Ross (going to acronym to GGGR now) fan Mark Walker after striking up a conversation on my comments and then on Facebook, the idea for this post came to be.

We all love a bit of collaboration!

We both took turns to pick a quote, five each in total and because I am such a gentleman, I let my colleague go first.

Mark was pretty quick of the Mark (geddit?) with a beauty…and in good old GgGR style I retorted with interest!

But to simply just ask you to vote for THE best quote would be boring, oh yes, so here is the con-flab we had over this awesome movie and our little game of GgGR Top Trumps; and please, please don’t forget to vote for your favourite quote in the poll below…

and of course feel free to comment with your favourite quote.

This post does come with a profanity warning – cussing ahead!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Tuesday 08:13 Mark Walker

Just got your reply about the Glengarry leads (sorry, quotes). Count me in man. You post it up with poll and I’ll reblog. Cool?

I’ll message you again in a bit with my first choice.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

08:54 Kevin Clare

Okay great. Thinking the title could be ‘you need brass balls to sell a post about glengarry glen Ross quotes’ send us your top five (I’ll do a list of ten) in total. Thanks Mark.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

08:59 Mark Walker

Nice title man. I like it. LOL.

Okay, here’s my first one. I had to put Dave’s quote at the beginning in brackets to put it in context a little…

[Dave Moss: "What's your name?"] Blake: “Fuck you! That’s my name. You know why, mister? ‘Cause you drove a Hyundai to get here tonight, I drove an eighty thousand dollar BMW. THAT’S my name… You see this watch? You see this watch?… That watch costs more than your car. I made $970,000 last year. How much you make? You see pal, that’s who I am, and you’re nothing. Nice guy? I don’t give a shit. Good father? Fuck you! Go home and play with your kids. You wanna work here – close! You think this is abuse? You think this is abuse, you cocksucker? You can’t take this, how can you take the abuse you get on a sit? You don’t like it, leave.”

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

09:00 Mark Walker

Are we taking it in turns? And are you going to post with full profanity? I think you need to. Give a warning beforehand for sensitive readers.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

10:06 Kevin Clare

Yes let’s take turns that’s your first one I’ll take the Shiva one

Williamson: [handing Roma lead cards] I’m giving you three leads…

Ricky Roma: Three? No, I count two.

Williamson: There’s three leads there.

Ricky Roma: “Patel”? Fuck you. Fucking Shiva handed this guy a million dollars, told him “Sign the deal!” he wouldn’t sign. And the god Vishnu too, into the bargain. Fuck you, John! You know your business, I know mine. Your business is being an asshole. I find out whose fucking cousin you are, I’m going to go to him and figure out a way to have your ass – fuck you!

[throws the cards at Williamson]

- Your second go now. Defo full profanity and agree on warning!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

10:10 Mark Walker

Ricky Roma: “Fuck you, Dave. You know you got a big mouth. You make a close, this whole place stinks with your farts for a week – how much you just ingested. Oh, what a big man you are. Hey, let me buy you a pack of gum, I’ll show you how to chew it”

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

13:02 Kevin Clare

Ricky Roma: You stupid fucking cunt. You, Williamson, I’m talking to you, shithead. You just cost me $6,000. Six thousand dollars and one Cadillac. That’s right. What are you going to do about it? What are you going to do about it, asshole? You’re fucking shit. Where did you learn your trade, you stupid fucking cunt, you idiot? Whoever told you that you could work with men? Oh, I’m gonna have your job, shithead”

This one will defo have a warning with it!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

13:21 Mark Walker

Haha! Beauty. Pacino puts him down good. I’ve gotta go with Ed Harris next…

Dave Moss: “That guy’s a fuckin’ asshole. Anybody who talks to that asshole is a fuckin’ asshole”.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Tuesday 16:42 Kevin Clare

Excellent! Blake: Your name is “you’re wanting”, and you can’t play the man’s game, you can’t close them, and then tell your wife your troubles. ‘Cause only one thing counts in this world: get them to sign on the line which is dotted. You hear me you fuckin’ faggots? — thats three each now two left I think so make ‘em good ones or have we used all the good leads now? This is fun ha ha!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

17:03 Mark Walker

I think the good leads are drying up. It is fun though. This has the potential to be a running feature my man! Here’s my next one…

Dave Moss: Yes, well that’s very cute, but you’re running this office like a bunch of bullshit.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

17:58 Kevin Clare

I think so Mark, I can do it and I will link to you and you can reblog if you want. I don’t mind putting the work in, I have an idea for the next one, I know you love this film and I will be posting my review later this week, how about THE GUARD? Lots of profanity in that and fuckin’ hilarious!?

Here’s my next quote, simply… A-B-C. A-Always, B-Be, C-Closing. Always be closing. ALWAYS BE CLOSING.

I think we both got one left, make it good! over to you man…

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:00 Kevin Clare

Also think we could post this conflab as the genesis of the idea to make the post even more interesting?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:14 Mark Walker

Yeah, this could really work out. I’m up for The Guard. I was also thinking for future… Full Metal Jacket, The Big Lebowski, and any Tarantino.

Okay, last one…

Dave Moss: Who’s my pal, Ricky? Hmm? What are you? And what are you, Ricky? Huh? Bishop Sheen? What the fuck are you, Mr. Slick? Who – what the fuck are you, “Friend to the working man”? Big deal! FUCK YOU! You got the memory of a fuckin’ fly! I never liked you, anyway.”

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:19 Kevin Clare

Is that your farewell speech?

Very nice, love the upset and anger in his voice when he says it too.

The Guard it is then and after got to be Tarantino, shall we start with Reservoir Dogs then?

Right, last quote for this post and I will get to work on it, have it posted in a day of two that cool with you?

here goes, another neat one…

George Aaronow: When I talk to the police, I get nervous.

Ricky Roma: Yes. You know who doesn’t?

George Aaronow: Who?

Ricky Roma: Thieves. Always tell the truth, George; it’s the easiest thing to remember.

I think that’s the five, yeh?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:24 Mark Walker

Nice! Very nice man. I like it when a little idea comes from nowhere. This could be a big hit. The guard next and then Reservoir Dogs. Sounds great man. Can’t wait to see it up.

I like that little exchange between two characters you done there. That could be something to consider for future. Like mini scenes.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:31 Kevin Clare

I love it when a plan comes together! If an audience finds it as funny as you and I then it could be fun indeed. Oh yes, exchanges are good.

You can have first choice on The Guard, will contact again after posting this one.

“It’s been emotional”

ha, ha, ha thanks Mark.

P.S. As a joint venture, ideas for the running title?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:43 Mark Walker

Ha ha! It has been emotional!

Hmmm! A running title? The first that came into my head was “quick quotes” or “quick quips”. Let me think a little on that.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:47 Kevin Clare

Claratsi’s quotation Marks?

geddit?

see, we are marking quotes sort of by polling and I get your name in it too?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

18:53 Mark Walker

I like it man. That’s very clever. I’m getting excited about this one my friend. I think it could take off.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Now this is where you guys come in please, please vote and we would love your comments on our feature, and of course your favourite quotes we may have missed.

10 responses to “Claratsi’s quotation Marks!

  1. Fantastic my man! This was a great little project. I had a lot of fun doing that. Nice one. “Now hits the bricks and beat it, cause you are goin’ out” ;-)

  2. Reblogged this on MARKED MOVIES and commented:
    Here’s a little project that Claratsi and I collaborated on yesterday. Basically, we just threw some quotes back an forward to each from the superb film Glengarry Glen Ross and this is the result.

I would really like your comments, please leave a reply...

